
LEVEL8 Zipperless Carry On Luggage Airline Approved with Aluminum
Its listing explicitly pairs a 20-inch airline-approved size with an aluminum frame and TSA locks, the clearest fit for repeated flying among the three.
Buying Guide
Three very different carry-ons, judged on what their listings actually promise — frame, wheel type, size compliance and who each one is really built for.


Its listing explicitly pairs a 20-inch airline-approved size with an aluminum frame and TSA locks, the clearest fit for repeated flying among the three.

The listing's 1.5-inch expansion feature and adjustable handle height point to a case built for variable load rather than strict minimal-size compliance.
| Shell Type | Wheel Type | Stated Size | Locks | Best For | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
LEVEL8 Zipperless Carry On Luggage Airline Approved with Aluminum Frame, Cute Hardshell Suitcase with Spinner Wheels, Metal Rolling Travel Case with Tsa Locks, 20 Inch, Off White | Zipperless hardshell, aluminum frame | Spinner | 20 inch, airline-approved | TSA locks | Frequent flyers wanting a rugged, lockable carry-on |
American Tourister Stratum 3.0 Medium 24-Inch Spinner, Airline Approved, Durable Hardside Luggage, Expands 1.5", RightHeight™ Adjustable Handle, Black | Hardside, expandable +1.5" | Spinner | 24 inch, airline-approved | Not specified in listing | Travelers wanting packing flexibility over strict carry-on size |
Rockland Jr. Kids' My First Hardside Spinner Luggage, Carry-On, Shark | Hardside, kids' styling | Spinner | Carry-on sized for children | Not specified in listing | A child's first suitcase, not adult frequent travel |
Qualitative — this lineup did not carry enough verifiable data to score, so we have not. No prices — they move too fast for an article to stay true.
One winner per job, assigned only where this lineup genuinely supports a call.
Each links to a live Amazon listing that was opened and read before it went in.

Aluminum-frame hardshell carry-on
This is a 20-inch hardshell spinner built around an aluminum frame instead of a zipper closure, with TSA locks and spinner wheels, per the listing. The title specifically calls it airline-approved at this size, which matters for anyone who boards often and doesn't want a gate-check surprise. The trade-off is that a metal-frame, zipperless build is typically heavier and pricier to repair than a soft or basic hardside case, and the 'cute' styling cue suggests a lighter aesthetic than a purely business-travel case.
Best for: Frequent flyers who want a rugged, lockable carry-on sized for airline bins
Listed as: LEVEL8 Zipperless Carry On Luggage Airline Approved with Aluminum Frame, Cute Hardshell Suitcase with Spinner Wh
View on Amazon →
Expandable mid-size hardside spinner
This is a 24-inch hardside spinner from an established luggage line, with an expansion feature adding 1.5 inches and an adjustable handle height, per the listing. It's labeled airline-approved, but 24 inches typically sits in checked-bag territory rather than strict carry-on, so travelers should confirm against their airline's actual size chart rather than the listing's general claim. It suits someone who wants one adaptable case for both short and slightly longer trips.
Best for: Travelers who want expandable packing room and don't need strict carry-on sizing
Listed as: American Tourister Stratum 3.0 Medium 24-Inch Spinner, Airline Approved, Durable Hardside Luggage, Expands 1.5",
View on Amazon →
Kids' hardside spinner
This is a hardside spinner sized and marketed as a child's first suitcase, shark-themed, per the listing title. It's not positioned for adult frequent travel, and there's no listing language suggesting it meets adult airline carry-on standards or heavy-rotation durability. It's best understood as a companion piece for a child traveling alongside a parent's own carry-on, not a stand-in for one.
Best for: Parents outfitting a young child with their own small suitcase
Listed as: Rockland Jr. Kids' My First Hardside Spinner Luggage, Carry-On, Shark
View on Amazon →The 20-inch aluminum-frame spinner is the one whose listing title directly claims airline-approved carry-on sizing. The 24-inch expandable spinner is labeled airline-approved too, but 24 inches commonly falls into checked-bag range for many carriers, so it's worth checking your airline's own chart before relying on the title alone.
No. Its own listing title frames it as a child's first hardside spinner, sized and styled for a young traveler, not for the load capacity or airline dimensions an adult frequent flier would need.
The aluminum-frame case in this roundup uses a frame-and-latch closure instead of a zipper, per its listing, which can reduce the risk of a zipper failing under repeated travel use. The trade-off, not stated in the listing but generally true of frame cases, is usually added weight compared to a zippered shell.
It can for airlines with slightly larger carry-on allowances, but at 24 inches before expansion it's closer to a small checked bag on many US carriers. Anyone needing strict carry-on compliance should treat this as a secondary or checked case rather than a guaranteed carry-on.
Two of the three list spinner wheels by name — the aluminum-frame hardshell and the expandable mid-size case. The kids' suitcase is also described as a spinner in its title, though none of the listings detail wheel count or bearing quality beyond calling them spinner wheels.
For someone flying often and wanting a carry-on built to take knocks, the aluminum-framed zipperless spinner is the one whose listing speaks most directly to durability and airline-approved sizing at 20 inches. The expandable spinner suits travelers who want a bit of packing flexibility and don't mind a size closer to medium than strict carry-on, per its 24-inch listing. The kids' spinner is not a frequent-traveler pick at all — its own title frames it as a child's first suitcase, and it should be judged on that basis, not against the other two.
Affiliate disclosure. DopamineKart is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate, DopamineKart earns from qualifying purchases — at no extra cost to you, and it never changes a pick. Sources. Every listing was verified live; nothing here was tested by hand. Colours, sizes and availability change — read the listing before buying.
How we review · Corrections: email us