Buy now, pay later splits a purchase into installments, often four or fewer. The FTC warns of fees, fewer protections and possible credit reporting; the CFPB describes refund and dispute rules whose current status is unclear. This is general information, not financial advice.
This is general information, not financial advice. It cannot know your income, debts or credit history. Rules and lender terms change, and this page was written on Nov. 4, 2026 and should be re-checked after Dec. 1, 2026.
What buy now, pay later is
The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) describes buy now, pay later (BNPL) as "zero-interest loans repaid in four or fewer installments," also called pay-in-four loans, and says they have grown rapidly in the U.S. since 2019 (CFPB research report page (Jan. 13, 2025)). Not every plan is that simple. Affirm "How it works" page says the rate on its plans is 0 to 36 percent APR based on credit, subject to an eligibility check, with its Pay in 4 option at 0 percent APR, and that you see any interest up front. So "pay later" can mean a short interest-free split or a longer loan with interest.
How it works at checkout
You choose the plan at a retailer’s checkout and the lender decides whether to approve you. Klarna Pay Later page says Pay in 4 is subject to credit approval with a minimum down payment, and carries a service fee. Affirm says checking for plans will not affect your credit and that a down payment may be required. The remaining payments follow a schedule.
The risks to weigh
Overspending
Splitting a purchase can make a larger basket feel affordable. Decide your limit first, as in our Black Friday shopping plan, and count every installment against your monthly budget.
Fees and late payments
The FTC says most plans charge some fees, sometimes high ones, and they can apply to each payment, to late payments or to changing a payment date (FTC consumer guide (March 2023)). The Affirm page we opened does not state a late-fee policy, so read the loan terms shown at checkout.
Debit autopay and overdrafts
The FTC warns you could be hit with overdraft fees if autopay pulls from a debit account without enough money in it, and to make sure a credit card payment will not put you over your credit limit.
Returns and refund timing
The FTC does not describe BNPL-specific return rules. It tells shoppers to ask "What’s the plan’s refund policy?" and to check reviews, "especially about disputing charges or making returns" (FTC consumer alert (Dec. 22, 2022, updated May 22, 2024)). In 2024 the CFPB said lenders must credit refunds to a consumer’s account when a product is returned, and that more than 13 percent of BNPL transactions in its study involved a return or dispute (CFPB press release (May 22, 2024, archived)). See the "How likely is it?" box below for the status of that rule. For store return rules, see return windows and price matching.
Credit reporting
Sources differ on the reporting picture. The FTC says providers "might report your payments to the three nationwide credit bureaus," so late or missed payments could hurt your credit and on-time payments might help. The CFPB wrote in January 2025 that lenders have generally not reported BNPL loans to the nationwide consumer reporting companies. Both can be true across different lenders and dates, so ask the lender what it reports.
Multiple loans at once
The CFPB report examined persistence of use, loan stacking across firms and total unsecured debt, but the page we opened gave no figures. We cannot say how common stacking is. The practical point is yours to check: list every active plan, with payment dates, before adding another.
Disputes
The FTC says BNPL plans "typically offer fewer protections" and that credit card protections might not extend to the original purchase when you use a card to pay the plan. In 2024 the CFPB said lenders must investigate disputes and pause payment requests during an investigation. The FTC also notes that some states apply consumer credit laws to BNPL plans and suggests contacting your state attorney general or consumer protection agency, and reporting bad experiences at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Original tool: questions to ask before choosing pay later
| Ask before you tap "pay later" | Why (source) |
|---|---|
| What is the total cost? | The FTC says many plans charge high late fees, per-transaction fees or change fees, even with low or no interest. |
| Is there a down payment? | Affirm says a down payment may be required, and Klarna lists a minimum down payment for Pay in 4. |
| Will it run a credit check? | Klarna says Pay in 4 is subject to credit approval. The FTC says some providers require a credit check. |
| Does it report to credit bureaus? | The FTC says some providers might; the CFPB said in Jan. 2025 that lenders have generally not. Ask the lender. |
| How does autopay hit my account? | The FTC warns that autopay from a debit account can trigger overdraft fees if funds are short. |
| What if I return the item? | The FTC says to ask for the plan’s refund policy and to read reviews about returns and disputes. |
| What if I miss a payment? | The FTC lists this as a question to ask before you sign up. |
| How many plans am I already in? | The CFPB study looks at loan stacking across lenders; the page we opened gave no figures. |
How likely is it?
What is still unconfirmed, how sure we are, and what would settle it. Word labels, not percentages.
Contested The 2024 CFPB dispute and refund rule applies to BNPL lenders today. The CFPB issued it May 22, 2024, but a May 2025 summary reports the CFPB said it would not prioritize enforcement and would consider rescinding it. The CFPB rule page we opened shows no notice either way and was last modified Nov. 12, 2024. What would settle it: The CFPB or Federal Register stating the rule’s current status.
Possible Your lender reports your payments to credit bureaus. The FTC says some providers might; the CFPB said lenders have generally not as of Jan. 2025. What would settle it: The lender’s own terms or credit reporting page.
Possible A late fee will apply if you miss a payment. The FTC says many plans charge late fees; the Affirm page we opened does not state its policy. What would settle it: The terms shown at checkout for your plan.
If you decide to use it
Read the full agreement at checkout, since we could not open every lender’s payment terms. Screenshot the schedule, calendar the due dates and the return deadline, and see how to shop safely and how to spot a fake deal, because financing does not make a poor deal good. For the season’s sale dates, see the landscape guide and Cyber Monday vs Black Friday. Older Legit coverage: Prime sale events.
Questions and answers
What is buy now, pay later?
The CFPB describes it as zero-interest loans repaid in four or fewer installments, also called pay-in-four. Some lenders also offer longer plans that can carry interest.
How does buy now, pay later work at checkout?
You select the plan, the lender decides whether to approve you, and you pay in installments on a schedule. Klarna says Pay in 4 is subject to credit approval with a minimum down payment, and Affirm says a down payment may be required.
Does buy now, pay later charge interest?
It depends on the lender and plan. Affirm's page says rates range from 0 to 36 percent APR based on credit, with its Pay in 4 option at 0 percent APR.
Can buy now, pay later have fees?
Yes. The FTC says most plans charge some fees, sometimes high ones, such as late fees, per-payment fees or fees to change a payment date.
Does buy now, pay later affect my credit score?
Possibly. The FTC says some providers might report payments to the three credit bureaus, so late payments could hurt and on-time payments might help. The CFPB said in January 2025 that lenders have generally not reported these loans.
Does buy now, pay later do a credit check?
Often some form of one. Klarna says Pay in 4 is subject to credit approval, and Affirm says checking for plans will not affect your credit, so read each lender's checkout disclosures.
What happens if I miss a payment on pay later?
It depends on the plan. The FTC says many plans charge late fees and that missed payments could affect your credit if the provider reports them, so ask what happens before you sign up.
What happens if I return an item bought with buy now, pay later?
Follow the store's return rules and the lender's refund policy, which the FTC tells shoppers to ask about. The CFPB said in 2024 that lenders must credit refunds, but that rule's current status is unconfirmed.
Can I dispute a buy now, pay later charge?
The FTC says BNPL plans typically offer fewer protections than credit cards. The CFPB said in 2024 lenders must investigate disputes, but its current enforcement stance is uncertain, so check your lender and state attorney general.
Is the CFPB buy now, pay later rule still in effect?
Unconfirmed. A May 2025 summary reports the CFPB would not prioritize enforcing it and would consider rescinding it, and the CFPB rule page we opened shows no status notice.
Can I use multiple buy now, pay later plans at once?
Lenders allow it in some cases, and the CFPB studies "loan stacking" across lenders, but we found no figures. Keep a list of every plan and due date so payments do not collide.
Can pay later cause overdraft fees?
Yes, potentially. The FTC warns that autopay from a debit account can lead to overdraft fees if you do not have enough money in the account.
Is buy now, pay later safe for Black Friday shopping?
This is general information, not financial advice. It can work as a short interest-free split for some people, but fees, returns, credit reporting and stacking are real risks, so read the terms and plan the payments first.
Should I put pay-later payments on a credit card?
The FTC says if you use a credit card, make sure the payment will not put you over your credit limit, and that card protections might not extend to the original purchase. Consider your own finances before deciding.
Sources. This is general information, not financial advice. Written Nov. 4, 2026; rules and lender terms change, so re-check after Dec. 1, 2026. No affiliate links are used on this page. Pages we opened: FTC consumer guide (March 2023); FTC consumer alert (Dec. 22, 2022, updated May 22, 2024); CFPB research report page (Jan. 13, 2025); CFPB press release (May 22, 2024, archived); CFPB interpretive rule page (issued May 22, 2024); Orrick summary (May 2025); Affirm "How it works" page; Klarna Pay Later page. We did not open the full Affirm or Klarna loan agreements; read those at checkout. The CFPB study figures for loan stacking and the rule’s current status are unverified.